Georges River Council resumed management of Jubilee Stadium in February 2017 and has taken the opportunity to make the Stadium more accessible to other sporting clubs and codes. This ensures greater use of the venue and establishes a more vibrant sporting precinct in the local area, which also improves Jubilee Stadium’s long-term commercial viability.
The redeveloped western grandstand boasts corporate suites, media suites and panoramic, undercover views with retail food and beverage outlets operating for all major events.
Netstrata Jubilee Stadium boasts a state of the art Tahoma Couch playing surface capable of handling back-to-back sporting and special events. Netstrata Jubilee Stadium can accommodate international rugby league, rugby union and football matches with broadcast quality arena lighting.
There are four change rooms, a referees room, function spaces and merchandise outlets.
The Stadium is easily accessible by public transport with an easy ten minute walk to Carlton Station.
Netstrata Jubilee Stadium is home to the St George Illawarra Dragons who play in the National Rugby League and Sydney FC who play in the A-League and Asian Champions League. Netstrata Jubilee Stadium also hosts St George district soccer matches which is an exciting initiative of the St George Football Association. Other high profile clubs such as Arsenal FC have also utilised this outstanding venue.
Netstrata Jubilee Stadium features in this uplifting video St George Football Association put together called #WeAreStGeorge
The ground hosted its first game of rugby league in March 1936 when the St. George Dragons were defeated by the Newtown Bluebags in an exhibition match.
The stadium has undergone several constructions over the years. The first official game was played on 22 April 1950 in which the Dragons lost 17–15 to South Sydney.
Jubilee Stadium stands on part of the original grant of 87 acres (350,000 m2) awarded on 23 December 1853 to Archibald McNab. Edmund English purchased the grant on 23 May 1854 for around 400 pounds. It officially became known as Kogarah Park when it was acquired by the Department of Lands on 1 July 1896 and dedicated as the first public park in Kogarah.
Control of the park was eventually passed to the Council of the Municipality of Kogarah on 29 August 1906, which became Kogarah City and on 12 May 2016 Georges River Council.
During Kogarah's Jubilee celebrations in 1935, Jubilee Stadium was constructed in Kogarah Park.
Continue reading on Wikipedia
Jubilee Oval renovations - believed to be April 1971
Rugby league match 1977
Kogarah Municipality Centenary Function 1985
Source: The Leader
Women office workers were given time off to attend the Secretarial Day sports carnival at Jubilee Oval, Kogarah.
The front page of The Leader on August 17, 1960, included the above photo of business course students from St George Technical College "letting themselves go in a most unsecretarial manner as they cheer on team mates".
Picture: Fairfax Media